Dangerous driving takes on many forms. Driving while Intoxicated in Dutchess County, Vehicle and Traffic Law (VTL) section 1192(2) and (3) is quickly being rivaled by Driving while texting, VTL section 1225(c) and 1225(d). A distracted driver is sometimes just as bad or worse than a drunken driver.
The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles recognizes the problem and now has enhanced fines and points. The only exception is an emergency situation requiring the use of the mobile device.
If you use your mobile device while driving, aside from the danger of an accident, you are also subject to 5 points on your license.
In addition, the fines range from $50 to $450 depending on your driving history. Many Courts are not allowing plea bargaining for these offenses.
Consult with an attorney with experience in defending traffic cases. Remember the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles now looks back 25 years at an individual’s driving record.